Free Range chicks?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Dottie Pratt, Sep 12, 2008.

1. Dottie Pratt

Dottie Pratt Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 4, 2008
    Arkansas
    I'm very new to having chicks. My Question is what time is best to get chicks back in the coop? We have been trying around 5:30 Central time. And having quite a time!!! Coulsd someone please tell me.[​IMG]

2. CHICKEN little 1

CHICKEN little 1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 20, 2008
    W.V.
    [​IMG] I free range. I usually feed mine in the evening pretty regularly at the same time each evening. If I call them,and they see me coming with the feed,and water,they usually come running. I've had a few independent type birds,that were a pain once in awhile,and had to herd them in.

I guess the main thing is to keep a pretty consistant time.The feed is an incentive.

Good Luck! Hope this helps.[​IMG]

Last edited: Sep 12, 2008
  3. Reinbeau

Reinbeau The Teapot Underground Premium Member

Why not just let them go in when they want to? They'll all march right into the coop at sundown. Works every single night for me, no treats, no cajoling, no chasing.

4. CHICKEN little 1

CHICKEN little 1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 20, 2008
    W.V.
    [​IMG]

It's fine if you don't have any preditors. We have a fox that comes around sometimes.So I have learned not to let them out too early,and not to leave them out too late. It's worked pretty well as foxes like to hunt from dusk till dawn. Night shift?[​IMG]

5. krcote

krcote Chillin' With My Peeps

May 21, 2008
    Concord, NH