FREE RANGE??

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by MaggiesOrganic, Aug 17, 2013.

1. MaggiesOrganic

MaggiesOrganic Out Of The Brooder

Jun 18, 2013
    Hi there,

I am relatively new to backyardchickens.com and have 15 chickens. This is our first flock, and it has turned into more of an adventure than I expected. I also enjoy the chickens much more than I expected!

We have 15 chickens: 5 black Austrolorp hens, 1 Rhode Island White hen, 3 Rhode Island red hens, 4 Barred Rock hens, 1 Barred Rock rooster, 1 caramel-colored hen.

Their hen-house is spacious, and they have about 250 square feet of enclosed coop. Do I need to also allow them freedom to roam the yard once in a while? If so, how do I get them to go back into the coop?

Our plan for next spring is to build an additional coop of the same size so that we can alternate their living space year to year.

CLUCK!

2. BethChick78

BethChick78 Out Of The Brooder

I too worried about getting my girls back in but actually, after running around after them on the first evening, I soon realized that they come back it of their own accord when it's time to roost. If I do need to get them in during the day, a handful of scratch works a treat! Letting then out for a change of scenery is always nice I think.

Enjoy

3. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    Access to the yard will give them activities they love like scratching for bugs and seeds, dust bathing and the sunlight will give them much needed vitamin D.
    Once they've slept somewhere for a few days they'll always go back to the same place at dusk. If they haven't been out at all I would let them out the first time about an hour before dusk so they won't venture so far they can't find their way back. Once they orient themselves to their surroundings there won't be a problem.

Having another coop is a good idea for quarantining new birds as well as the sick and injured.