1. Come check out hundreds of awesome coop pages (and a few that need suggestions) in our 2018 Coop Rating Project!

free ranging after being in a chicken tractor?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Molly12300, Aug 6, 2010.

1. Molly12300

Molly12300 Hatching

Aug 5, 2010
    Hello..this is my first post here, and I hope that you all can help me. Here is my question/story. This is my first time having chickens, and my husband and I built a great chicken tractor and I bought 6 pullets at about 8 weeks old. The woman who sold me the chickens informed me that it would be best to keep the pullets confined in the chicken tractor until they started laying eggs because of predators coming and getting them if they were not full grown. So I have kept them in the tractor confined, but they are reaching full maturity and also the tractor is not the biggest (we made it with the intention of letting the chickens free range in the day and have security during the night). So I have been going out and leaving the door open, but the chickens do not want to leave the tractor. They do come out if they see that I have treats for them, but then they eat it and run right back in. I don't have a problem with leaving the door open for them, but we have six barn cats that run around and I am afraid that the cats (who have shown great interest in the chickens, and in fact have chased a chicken) will get into the coop and it would be a massacre. So I guess my question would be....how do I get my chickens to free range? My sister who has chickens in various ages suggested me getting an older more veteran chicken to show my poor chickens the way of the world, but if I did that I would have to get rid of one or two because the tractor does not have that much room for 7 chickens. Sorry that this is so long, but I really want to give my chickens a great quality of life, and I don't feel them living in a chicken tractor when they have plenty of room to run is a good life.