1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Free Ranging concerns (neighbor has gamecocks who are quite skilled)

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by glass, Nov 12, 2013.

1. glass

glass Out Of The Brooder

I am new to raising chickens but I'm getting some help from one of my neighbors who has some experience with some RIRs. Ive had a plymouth rock hen and a rooster for the past month but yesterday during Veterans day I bought 15 Rhode Island Red Hens,1 Plymouth rock hen and a Black Australorp rooster and a Guinea Fowl. I have enough space and food to keep my flock healthy but I want them to free range during the day. My plan is too keep em in their coop/run for the next 2 weeks then let them out. My plymouth hen and rooster already know the drill i let them out during the day and just before dusk they raise back to their coop, that's a little bit about my situation right now but here goes my concern. yesterday I brought in the new members of my crew and everything was going great my plymouth rooster handled his introduction with my Australorp excellent and they got a long right away, but as I was fixing some things inside the run one of my neighbors fighting roosters jumped inside the run and picked a fight with my Australorp and he began to whoop him up I ran to where the roosters were fighting and picked up my neighbors rooster took him out of the run and threw him back to his yard and luckily my rooster didn't get hurt. Now my plan is to let my chickens out and roam my yard in 2 weeks, and my dad already told my neighbor to keep his roosters in his yard but he said hes going to continue to have at least one of his roosters free in his backyard so they are not always confined in a cage and so he can breed with the other hens he has. I don't know muc