Freezer advice

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by pattycake, Feb 15, 2008.

1. pattycake

pattycake Chillin' With My Peeps

May 7, 2007
    fingerlakes, ny
    This is totally off-topic, but I know there are a lot of gardeners and homesteading types here, so...

What kind of deep freezer would you recommend? I'm shopping around and have no idea whether I should get an upright or a chest, and how big it should be. I've never frozen much before, but we recently moved to the sticks and have space for a huge garden, and I'd like to freeze seasonal fruit in it too (blueberries, strawberries, etc.). I don't want to butcher my own chickens, but I'm also toying with the idea of buying some fresh chickens from a nearby farm. I have a family of four, if that helps.

Also, how to do prepare food to freeze it? Do you put it in plastic bags, freezer paper, or what?

I'm a total newbie at freezers, as you can tell.

2. SeaChick

SeaChick Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 25, 2007
    Southern Maine
    I LOVE my freezer!!! I have a small chest type that we got on craiglist or freecylcle... it is too small. I use heavy-duty ziplock freezer bags.

It saves SO much money in so many ways.
    1) We freeze out own produce and that from the farmers market when things are cheap, succulent and in season, like breen beans and tomatoes.
    2) we buy quarters of grass-fed organic beef & pork that we can only afford in these large bulk quantities
    3) when things are on sale that are normally splurges, like organic chickens for $1.99 or buy-one-get-one-free packages of organic strawberries, I load up on those

I always have the fixings for a great dinner without having to go to the store!!

3. MissPrissy

MissPrissy Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

May 7, 2007
    Forks, Virginia
    Get the largest, most energy efficient chest freezer you can afford if you plan to harvest and preserve your own food.

4. horsejody

horsejody Squeaky Wheel

Feb 11, 2008
    Waterloo, Nebraska