1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Freezing Temps: What happens to eggs?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Nifty-Chicken, Jan 13, 2007.

1. Nifty-Chicken

Nifty-Chicken Administrator Staff Member

Dec 26, 2006
    California - SF East Bay
    Hey gang,

Just got some eggs from my girls. Some of them I'm sure were there overnight when it was super freezing. I'm not hatching chicks or anything, just eating eggs. Does freezing do anything to eggs texture, taste, etc?

Thanks!

2. LittleChickenRacingTeam

LittleChickenRacingTeam On vacation

Jan 11, 2007
    Ontario, CANADA
    Freezing Temps: What happens to eggs?

I'm no expert, but I believe the eggs freeze.​

3. Nifty-Chicken

Nifty-Chicken Administrator Staff Member

Dec 26, 2006
    California - SF East Bay
    hahahaha...

Wow, you guys know everything!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Seriously though, does freezing an egg change the texture, taste, color, anything else (post thaw)?

4. eggchel

eggchel Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Dec 26, 2006
    Both Coasts
    I'd check the eggs carefully in case the freezing caused the shells to crack. That could let in bacteria. Otherwise, Im sure they'd be fine to eat.
    How about if you try some.... and let the rest of us know, K?[​IMG]

chel

5. I'll let you know what happens [​IMG]
    I just put a few in the freezer as an experiment, lol.

Lisa
    [​IMG]

6. Sandyki

Sandyki Out Of The Brooder

Jan 11, 2007
    Minnesota
    If they have frozen hard enough that the shell has cracked, I toss them. Otherwise, I just use them as usual with no problems. I don't notice a difference in texture.