French Maran Eggs - incubating - candling for dark eggs? blind myth?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by gallatea, Mar 13, 2011.

1. gallatea

gallatea Out Of The Brooder

Mar 31, 2010
    I have ~10 French Black Copper Marans - I'm new to incubating. Am having success with some other breeds that are a week a head of the Marans so at least I know I'm doing something right thus far. I have 2 hatch dates a week apart - and yes I know about all the temp/humidity changes for the last 3 days, will be separating batch 1 & 2 when the time comes so will have 2 separate environments for incubating vs. hatch/drying.

Anyway, things are going well, but I cannot see a thing when candling these eggs. I have no issues with my white eggs obviously.

I do have a slide projector (the ultra bright light I heard is good for dark eggs). I have some professional chicken books and read everything I can find on incubating eggs. I've heard some tales that candling can make your chickens blind (ok, like every hour, or twice in incubation of 21 days is never explained - or with what? A blow torch or a tiny mini flashlight).

I'm wondering *not* if this is true (for that is a matter of opinion), but if anyone has actually experienced or seen it happen? My flashlight is not going to do the trick for candling these dark brown eggs, but before I use my projector I want to make sure it's safe. My professional books says it's safe but doesn't mention brighter light sources like a projector. I plan to candle on day 10 coming up. I guess in one way the dark eggs are good as I leave them alone and don't want to candle as much.

As a newbie I'm loving seeing the babies in action. It's so nerve wracking worrying about being a half degree off or something and worrying about deformities etc...

Thanks in advance!

Last edited: Mar 13, 2011
  2. FireTigeris

FireTigeris Tyger! Tyger! burning bright