1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Fresh air poultry coop - Winter

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by igapo, Jan 5, 2014.

1. igapo

igapo Out Of The Brooder

I am new to chicken raising in northern Massachusetts and thought I would share by positive experiences so far with my coop design. We bought 2 female buff orpington and 2 female barred rock chicks in March of 2013 and 2 female Americana chicks in May. I spent a lot of last winter and spring researching, to the extreme, ideas for coops. Just when I was about ready to settle on a design, I came across a lot of discussion on BYC about ventilation and air quality. Eventually, I came across the fresh-air coop design of JackE (member) who turned me on to the philosophy and book by Prince T. Woods entitled Fresh-Air Poultry Houses. I liked the smaller, box-like designs and decided to try to create my own making sure to make the coop a bit longer than wider (~6x8) in my case. My girls are doing very well and have been laying eggs in the coldest of winter; we are getting 3-4 eggs a day (one hen I don't think every started laying). I was definitely nervous about moisture in the heavy rains. No problems. I was then worried about the snow getting in, but I haven't had snow get much beyond the front sill of the hardware cloth wire (the run was a bit more snow so I covered 3 of the sides with plastic). As for breezes and the wind, I hung from the inside roof and under one of the roosts a light piece of string with a small feather superglued to it. I used these to check for breezes. They move a bit with the wind, but only slightly and I think it is mainly from the pressure differences from the air moving outside the front. Temperatures have been absolutely no problem. The girls hav