Fresh Foods?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by mmullikin8, Apr 3, 2017.

1. mmullikin8

mmullikin8 Just Hatched

Apr 3, 2017
    Hi There-

I am new at this whole chicken thing- I am wondering besides chick starter what other foods can I feed my coming 3 week old chicks? I feel like they are getting board of chick starter- I know I would be! Thank you!!

2. chickenweirdo1

chickenweirdo1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 23, 2016
    Massachusetts
    My Coop
    [​IMG]Great to have another poultry lover! You can give them treats but not all the time when they are that young.They get the nutrients and vitamins from the chick starter to help hem grow. For treats you could give meal worms, earthworms, and leafy greens such as lettuce or kale. You could also take the chick starter and add water and make it to the consistency of oatmeal and they will think its a treat as well.

Last edited: Apr 3, 2017
  3. mmullikin8

mmullikin8 Just Hatched

Apr 3, 2017
    Seems like a dumb question- but do I have to chop the leafy greens small or will they be ok? What about veggies or fruits? At what age are they ok to have other larger things? Thanks for the help!!

4. chickenweirdo1

chickenweirdo1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 23, 2016
    Massachusetts
    My Coop
    Just give it to them you don't need to chop it up. I would say about 6 weeks is when you can have anything basically. My chickens love watermelon, peaches, and other soft fruits.

5. MigraineMan

MigraineMan Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 11, 2017
    Frederick, Maryland