frizzle keeping eyes closed

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by clovergirl78, Aug 20, 2013.

1. clovergirl78

clovergirl78 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 5, 2013
    central Arkansas
    I just got my first frizzle a couple of days ago, and I'm new to the breed (well, type). I've noticed that she keeps one or both of her eyes closed alot. She will open them, and when she does, they look clear. No eye discharge or nasal discharge or any signs of respiratory issues. She's eating and everything. Is this common in frizzles, due to the stress of the change, or something i should b concerned about? Also, she's a frizzle splash Cochin if that helps

2. iheartnh

iheartnh Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 11, 2013
    Derry, NH
    I've read on here, several times, that an awake chicken who keeps its eyes closed is in pain. Have you checked her over for injury?

3. clovergirl78

Jul 5, 2013
    central Arkansas
    I don't see or feel anything. She does seem like she's a little underweight n not as active as i would expect her to b.

4. BantamLover21

BantamLover21 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Does she seem tired at all? Often tired chickens which keep their eyes closed have worms or Coccidiosis. In the case of worms, I would worm her with SafeGuard, Valbazen, or the Worminator. The first two wormers can generally be purchased from livestock supply stores, and the Worminator can be ordered online from here: http://www.twincitypoultrysupplies.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=584