Frizzle question/ PICS ADDED

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by hd_darcy, Jun 21, 2010.

1. hd_darcy

hd_darcy Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2010
    Wisconsin
    Do frizzles have different 'levels' of curliness? I have four 5-week old chicks. One I was certain wasn't a frizzle ever since she/he got her wing feathers (got them from a hatchery), but now she/he's looking much more "puffier". The other three are VERY curly. And #4 isn't very curly but more fluffier than a straight-feathered cochin maybe? So I'm just wondering if there is a "grey" area with frizzles or if it is either you are or you aren't! Thanks!

Last edited: Jun 21, 2010
  2. WestKnollAmy

WestKnollAmy The Crazy Chicken Lady Premium Member

Apr 22, 2008
    upstate SC
    I thought either they are or they aren't. But this is my first year raising them.
    Maybe the other one has Silkie to make it look fluffy?

Photo time! We could tell more with pix.[​IMG]

3. hd_darcy

Apr 28, 2010
    Wisconsin
    Here "she" is [​IMG] Thank you!!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

4. joza2210

joza2210 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 5, 2010
    I have just bred my frizzle and i have one exactly the same and that is 5 weeks old too ... I hope it is a frizzle though....

5. Mary Of Exeter

Mary Of Exeter Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 10, 2009
    Rowan County, NC
    He/She doesn't look like a frizzle to me. Unless you breed frizzles to frizzles (or pure frizzle to smooth), there's always a chance of a smooth feathered bird (in fact, there's a big chance).

6. hd_darcy

Apr 28, 2010
    Wisconsin
    Thank you! The more I looked at pics of other cochins, I realize she's straight-feathered [​IMG]

7. dieselgrl48

dieselgrl48 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 21, 2010
    Virginia