From bantams to large fowl...

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by poularde, Sep 24, 2010.

1. poularde

poularde Hatching mode

Feb 7, 2010
    Puyallup, Wa.
    This may be a silly question, but I am new to breeding. I love so many breeds it is hard to choose which ones I want to breed. I am interested in having three small pens dedicated to a rare breed of chicken. I want a breed that needs work. I know there is a lot of them. For space reasons I think of bantams. My question is how hard is it to go from bantams to LF? Is it possible or is that wrong to even think of this? [​IMG]

2. NYREDS

NYREDS Overrun With Chickens

Jan 14, 2008
    I don't think I understand the question. What do you mean by "go from bantams to large fow"l?

3. greenfamilyfarms

greenfamilyfarms Big Pippin'

Feb 27, 2008
    Elizabethtown, NC
    As a general side note, bantams are much more common in the show ring than large fowl. If you really want a challenge, go with the large fowl. If you want to start "easy" and build your confidence up, get the best pair or trio of bantams you can buy and start showing them. Breed them in the spring and summer and hatch off offspring for Fall/Winter show birds and sell/give away the extras that are not up to par.

4. poularde

poularde Hatching mode

Feb 7, 2010
    Puyallup, Wa.
    That is a good idea greenfamilyfarms I think you understand what I mean. NYREDS I know it is an odd question. I was thinking of helping preserve an endangered breed in bantam form for space reasons. I wanted to know if it would be possible to bring the bantam to a LF in the future. I hope that makes sense. [​IMG]

5. ChickieBooBoo

ChickieBooBoo Cold Canadian Chick

Dec 2, 2009
    Canada
    Quote:ahh, I see what you mean. I wonder if they would ever be considered LF, even if they were big... [​IMG]

6. NYREDS

Jan 14, 2008