frostbite?

Renee572

Songster
5 Years
Apr 11, 2014
I didn't think it got cold enough here last night but maybe my girls did? What do I do for it besides putting a heating lamp out there tonight?

Last edited:
Could it be a peck injury or some other injury from something sharp in the coop? Frostbite is pretty rare in October, more common during sub-zero weather. It usually gets the tips of the comb first.

Could it be a peck injury or some other injury from something sharp in the coop?  Frostbite is pretty rare in October, more common during sub-zero weather.  It usually gets the tips of the comb first.
I suppose it could be. I'm still fairly new to this whole chicken thing. I haven't noticed any of the other girls picking on these 2 though. My girls are generally pretty mellow, I don't even know the pecking order, that's how mellow they are. But with that being said I do live in AZ and it only got to 57 last night which I wouldn't think was cold. However we don't have a completely closed in coop... we have a run/coop where 3 sides are plywood and the front is just chicken wire.

Do you think I should put anything on the black areas? Should I bother putting a heat lamp out in the coop tonight in case they did get too cold? I recently lost a hen at the beginning of September and I just don't really want to make a mistake and lose another due to my lack of knowledge.