Frustrated: snakes and rats-need help, please

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by 2overeasy, Sep 23, 2011.

1. 2overeasy

2overeasy Chillin' With My Peeps

May 28, 2010
    Birchwood, TN
    I have read and read on here posts that deal with these but can't find a satisfactory answer. Today I thoroughly read ml's posted article by Gail Damerow, as well. So, here's the deal: My chicken house is a 10X 24 ft metal shed that was originally a 3-sided shelter for horses ( before I built a barn then got chickens). It is set at the edge of the woods (1 side is wooded, other, not). It has a dirt floor. I have been fighting a battle with critters for 2 1/2 years. I know, we all fight critters when it comes to our peeps.
    I've learned so much on here about fortifying and identifying predators. Everytime I lose one, I come to the forum and read and post voraciously. I have plugged all holes 2 inches or larger to avoid weasels. I have moved everything off of the floor inside and around the outside. They free range 10 acres during the day, but it's completely fenced with field fence so I never have dogs, fox, coyotes come on the property. They get completely closed up at night and let out in the morning by me. I have shot 3 possums. I have killed two snakes in the hen house. More on that.
    Over the last 2 1/2 years I've found about 6 or 7 chickens - no younger than 4 months - dead in the hen house in the morning. I've never lost a young chick. The first 3 times were tophats with heads missing or torn off. The next times were simply dead bodies with no discernible injuries (I didn't, however, check their back ends to see if they were chewed up that way by a weasel - I learned about that later).