Gambels--How Many

Discussion in 'Quail' started by deserthotwings, Nov 22, 2012.

1. deserthotwings

deserthotwings Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 1, 2011
    Queen Creek AZ
    Can anyone give me an idea of how many grown breeding age gambel quail I can keep in a ground floor pen (6' by 20'). I'm new to quail breeding and not sure if I sould keep them in pairs or how many hens to a male. Thanks for any advise.

2. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Gambels are generally kept in pairs, one male to one female, and don't colony breed. Keeping breeding pairs together will cause fighting issues.

For a pen this size, you could probably keep 10 pairs, or 20 birds in this size of space, in the "off breeding season". During breeding season, April thru September, you will need to cage the pairs separately and give them their own space, about 4 square foot per bird. However once the breeding season is over and fall arrives, you should be able to mix all these birds together for the winter covey, which they appreciate snuggling all together.

Last edited: Nov 23, 2012
  3. deserthotwings

Jul 1, 2011
    Queen Creek AZ
    Would it work out ok if I put a pair of gambels in a 20'x20' pheasant pen with about a dozen silver or golden pheasants? I have about 20 such pheasant pens and that would save me from having to build seperate little pens for each pair of quail. Thanks for the info.

4. TwoCrows

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Since you already have the pens, why not mix in the quail. You can mix quail and pheasants, however you will have to watch out for aggression. Pheasants are much larger than quail and if you have any cranky pheasants, they might harm or kill the quail. Give it a try, but keep an eye on things for a while to make sure the quail stay safe. The quail can also eat the pheasant food.

5. deserthotwings

Jul 1, 2011
    Queen Creek AZ