Game Starter VS Gamebird Chow?

Discussion in 'Quail' started by LivingRootsFarm, Jul 18, 2011.

1. LivingRootsFarm

LivingRootsFarm Out Of The Brooder

Jun 11, 2011
    Samsula
    Hello! I am still new to quail and have been reading ALOT of the questions and post. A lot of you recommend Gamebird Starter because of the higher protein levels. This is what I have been using and have had three out of five hens start laying. Just curious though when I was at the feed store the guy told me that since the hens have reached a certain age that they should be on the chow not the starter. But the chow is only at 20%. I still bought the starter because I didn't what to change anything since that has been working fine and they are laying.

Just curious is the gamebird chow more of a multi purpose feed for all type of gamebirds? And I should I continue with the gamebird starter? Did this guy not know what he was talking about?

2. gamebirdboy

gamebirdboy Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 29, 2011
    East Tennessee
    Keep them on the starter. They do better with more protein, keep doing exactly what you are. [​IMG]

3. thekid

thekid Chillin' With My Peeps

Quote:X2

4. JJMR794

JJMR794 Overrun With Chickens

Mar 2, 2009
    BROOKSVILLE FL
    MUCH OF THIS MIND FRAME YOUR SEEING COMES FROM LARGE GAMEBIRD FARMING TYPE OF BACKGROUND... MOST SPECIFICALLY BOB WHITES AND RING NECK PHEASANTS. FARMS THAT RAISE THESE BY THE TENS OF THOUSANDS FOR HUNTING PRESERVES DO OR DID THIS AT 1 POINT IN TIME... START WITH 28-30% STARTER, THEN 24% FINISHER/ CONDITIONER, THEN 20% LAYER/ MAINTENANCE FOR THE BREEDERS HOUSED OVER THE WINTER( KEEP IN MIND THESE ARE AND ARE EMPLOYED AS "SEASONAL LAYERS" AS NATURE INTENDED- WINTER IS THEIR OFF SEASON)~~~ NOW HERE'S WHERE THE REASONING COMES INTO PLAY= A. IT WAS ORIGINALLY CHEAPER, AND B. THEY WERE NOT MEANT AS LONG TERM PRODUCTION STOCK, NOR ARE THEY USED IN A YEAR ROUND CAPACITY