Gamey mutt pullet started to lay a few weeks ago.. going broody now?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Chido, Dec 28, 2011.

1. Chido

Chido Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 16, 2011
    El Monte
    My mutt Rusty has been getting aggressive and she sits on her egg inside the coop every day for the last 3-4 days. We collect her egg everyday and get her out of the coop, then we close the door. She doesn't like it and is very vocal about it. Is it normal for a 9 month pullet that just started to lay to go broody so soon?

2. bluefeather2697

bluefeather2697 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 9, 2011
    uhmm. im not an expert. but based on my experience, that can happen. im very happy back before when my first hen laid her first batch of eggs, i do collect them everyday but after her 8th egg.. she went broody.. and that's normal even for a hen that just started laying. [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

3. Chido

Apr 16, 2011
    El Monte
    Thanks for letting me know. I still let her stay in the coop until noon in case she needs to lay, but after that I just grab her and nonchalantly put her on the ground and close the coop. She doesn't like that an gets all puffy and growls, but then joins the flock.

4. Ariel301

Ariel301 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 14, 2009
    Kingman Arizona
    If she's a game or game mix...then it's absolutely normal. Those girls can be broody machines.

5. jeslewmazer

jeslewmazer Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 24, 2009
    Mississippi
    Quote:Agree. The youngest that I can remember to have them go broody was 6months. When they would go broody that young, it was almost always a good sign of a great momma hen in the making. They are many ways to break up a broody, if you don't want chicks or don't have a rooster. You could give her 1+ eggs and she would be happy. I have seen some hens sit on 18+ eggs at one time.

6. Chickiemom25

Chickiemom25 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 13, 2011
    North Alabama