Garage OK?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by kpgoldstar, Oct 3, 2013.

1. kpgoldstar

kpgoldstar Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 25, 2013
    West Coast of Arizona
    Hi Everybody!
    I am new to chickens and posted this question on my State thread but no one answered. I will be getting my chicks from a feed store on Monday and they will be 6 days old. So I got my brooder box, have the construction sand for bedding, purchased my lamp and housing. I live in Arizona and it is still quite warm here and will be for at least another month. I was going to keep mine in the house, however this time of year we run the evaporative cooler since highs are still in the mid 90's and it is dry as a bone out there. So my house is usually well into the 60's at all times day and night.

We started thinking about keeping them in the garage. It is 88-93 in there depending on the time of day. It will gradually get cooler as the temps slowly drop outside. Perfect temperature for week old chicks and it should fall right along with their age schedule. I only worry about ventilation as the air in there can be pretty stale. I will have them right outside the door to the house so if needed I can open that door and let some of the swamp cooler air flow over them. Another concern is light. I think it will be too hot if I have any sort of lamp on them, but is light from the overhead fluorescents sufficient? Should I leave it on 24 hours? My plan is to coop/run them at about 4 weeks which will be early November when temps are 80's day and 55-ish at night.

Thanks in advance for any and all advice!

Kristine

2. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

They would have 12 hours of light and 12 hours of darkness had they been brooded by a mother hen. Chicks don't need 24 hours light.