gardening for the flock...

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by stake, Mar 4, 2013.

1. stake

stake Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 5, 2013
    Malvern, pa
    All:

I am a newbie so any advise is appreciated. I plan to put a compost pile(fall leaves only) in my chicks run and have lots of bug/worms for the girls to eat...I also plant a garden, and was trying to estimate how much to grow to feed x6 chicks...I am thinking spinach, romaine lettuce, radish(tops), green beans, summer squash....tomatos(?).....your thought?

2. Kjordanov

Kjordanov Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 19, 2012
    NW
    Are you planning on feeding them strictly good from your garden? You can feed your chickens a lot of the stuff for in your compost.

3. stake

stake Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 5, 2013
    Malvern, pa
    Kjordanov:

I have piles of dead leaves that I compost....I have 100+ oak on my acre.....I will feed the chicks my left over veggies and will add food from the garden...the idea is to get them off feed when I can and have feed when I cannot...just wanted to see what others were feeding theirs and how much....I'm pretty new to this...

4. bj taylor

bj taylor Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 28, 2011
    North Central Texas
    i too want to grow food for the chickens. i am adding rabbits to the mix as well. i want to arrange my set up w/the rabbits in such a way that their poop rolls to the front. i lift that section off & dump the rabbit poo in the wheel barrow. take that a few feet to the raised beds & dump it in. i let my chickens free range too much to get any real manure from them.
    i'm growing some buckwheat, field peas, and oats right now. it's just small quantity - but it will help me understand them better so i can have more success on a bigger scale.

5. 4 the Birds

4 the Birds Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 15, 2010
    Westfield, Indiana