Gardens & Chickens Mixed

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by A Lucky Ladybug, Mar 9, 2015.

1. A Lucky Ladybug

A Lucky Ladybug Out Of The Brooder

Mar 8, 2015
    Quick question for those with Chickens - How high do your Garden beds need to be to keep the chickens out? I am planning low ones for them to graze but don't want them to eat everything I grow for my family as well and I am new to chickens. I wanted to let them roam around the garden to eat the bugs/pests So I was thinking of fencing them in with the garden but trying to keep it out of reach or covered a bit. We have huge hawks in our area so I cannot leave them completely free range

2. triplepurpose

triplepurpose Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 13, 2008
    Probably five or six feet high.... Maybe higher if you have a lighter weight breed...

Do you know anyone who's done this or heard of it being done successfully? I don't see this working for you unless you fence in the garden or cover the beds with chicken wire hoops or something. But then what would be the advantage to having chickens "in the garden," if they're just wandering the paths in between beds?

There are better ways to integrate chickens and gardens productively IMO. Research the Balfour method, compost runs, the "dueling gardens" system (have two areas, henhouse in the middle, one area is garden, one is chicken run/composting area--then switch them every growing season), etc., etc. All of which will benefit both chickens and veggies more and be far easier to manage.

Last edited: Mar 9, 2015
  3. A Lucky Ladybug

Mar 8, 2015
    Thank you, I am going to research those suggestions. I was just trying to keep the birds somewhere they would enjoy as well as where I will be a ton too while keeping them safe.

4. A Lucky Ladybug

Mar 8, 2015