Garlic

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by ChickenChic2016, Mar 2, 2017.

1. ChickenChic2016

ChickenChic2016 New Egg

Feb 12, 2017
    I am very new to chickens and was wondering what form of garlic is the best to feed my 3 buff orpingtons...freshly chopped, powder, freeze dried minced...so many forms.
    Thanks for any advice. I have been choping it up fresh but st the grocery I remembered all the different forms...

2. ChickNanny13

ChickNanny13 Overrun With Chickens

Jun 23, 2013
    Hilo, HI
    Think freshly chopped according to the "Chicken Chick" but there are times I forget to pick up & give them a tsp of bottled chopped garlic (5 girls). Not sure how often but I tend to forget more than I remember. Heard it's good in their water too. Someone with more experience with garlic/chickens will peep in...

3. casportpony

casportpony Team Tube Feeding Captain & Poop Inspector General Premium Member

Jun 24, 2012
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! What are you wanting to feed garlic for?

4. ChickenChic2016

ChickenChic2016 New Egg

Feb 12, 2017
    I feed it to boost their immunity..

5. casportpony

Jun 24, 2012
    My Coop
    Okay... Just wanna make sure you know it's not an effective de-wormer. Just the other day someone that feeds garlic and ACV posted a picture of poop with large roundworms in it. [​IMG]

6. lazy gardener

lazy gardener True BYC Addict

Nov 7, 2012
    CENTRAL MAINE
    How often are you giving it? Garlic is also a blood thinner. good to keep that in mind. I'd feel comfortable about using it 1 x /week, but not more often than that. Welcome to BYC.

7. kesrchicky16

kesrchicky16 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 13, 2016
    So what is a good de-wormer? I'm new to chickens too.
    Also I have been using oregano essential oils (I'm planting lots of fresh this summer to give and store for them next winter.) 1 drop per gallon of water for the immunity boost.

8. casportpony

Jun 24, 2012
    My Coop