Gender question about 2 rescue chickens

bebesdeivanka

Chirping
Jan 13, 2021
Hello, a few days ago I was able to rescue four chickens. One is the mother hen (picture 1). Then there are three babies, about 3 to 4 months old. They are in awful state and are being treated by my vet.
Picture 2 is the white baby, and pictures 3 to 5 are of the brown baby.
I have no experience with skinny types, all my hens are XXL and it was always quite obvious if it was a roo or a pullet.

Thank you very much for your insight 🤗🤗

Attachments

• IMG-20220220-WA0032.jpg
    IMG-20220220-WA0032.jpg
    336.3 KB · Views: 6
  • IMG-20220220-WA0034.jpg
    IMG-20220220-WA0034.jpg
    263.7 KB · Views: 3
  • IMG-20220220-WA0035.jpg
    IMG-20220220-WA0035.jpg
    211.8 KB · Views: 3
  • IMG-20220220-WA0031.jpg
    IMG-20220220-WA0031.jpg
    190.5 KB · Views: 3
Wow, they are in such bad condition, it's hard to tell. Normally, cockerels would be showing male-specific feathering by now, but those feathers are all missing. You might have to wait until the feathers grow back. If I had to guess though, I would say the white one could be a boy.

Yes, the white one is agressive towards the brown one, which makes me think they are both male. I had to separate the isolation pen. The weird thing is they have no wattles nor a proper comb. The white one still has a pink one and its really small.

We live in Buenos Aires, where fighting is prohibited but still very common. They are the skinny fight type, but as far as I know they were not used for that, they were rescued from an older man who didnt know how to take care of them (dirty water, only fed them a bit of corn, and the house was full of trash).