generalised care

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by random, Feb 6, 2009.

1. random

random Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 5, 2009
    australia
    as a generalisation, what r some signs and symtoms that indicate various problems chickens can have...i.e mites, worms, a "cold", umm i noticed something called scales or leg scales???
    not that my chooks r sick just im new to this and like to gather lots of info and generalised knowledge on keeping the healthiest chooks i can.
    i feel confident that they r happy, content and healthy but how do i know for sure?
    ta

2. AngelzFyre

AngelzFyre Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 18, 2007
    Pell City, Alabama
    Welcome! [​IMG]

You can learn almost anything you want to know by going to the SEARCH option on the tool bar above. Just type in a leading word or phrase and all the threads on that subject will come up.
    There are also books available Storey's Guide to Raising Chickens, Chickens in Your Backyard, that are helpful too. I'm sure other members can recommend more.

I spend a lot of time on BYC just reading the threads and what people do for treatment on illnesses and have learned a ton. Also info on feeding, coop design, weather proofing, predator control.

Good luck with your new flock and there are plenty of great folks on here to help with any questions you'll have on keeping them healthy and content in the future.
    [​IMG]

3. HidingInTheHenHouse

HidingInTheHenHouse Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 21, 2008
    Indianapolis
    When I go out to my coop, these are the things I look for which indicate a problem or sickness:

Chicken by itself, fluffed up, head pulled in, eyes closed, moving slow or not at all, not eating or drinking

Chicken not walking easily. You learn what "normal" chicken behavior and movement looks like, by just watching the flock when they are free ranging or just in their yard, then you can very easily spot abnormal movement or walking