Genesis Hovabator 1588

VickieB57

Chirping
6 Years
Jun 14, 2013
My sister bought a Genesis Hovabator. She is having problems with it keeping the humidity high enough. The problem didn't start until after her first batch, but since then she has noticed that the humidity drops quickly. She went to bed last night with it at 55% and woke up this morning to it being 25%. Does anyone know what she's doing wrong or what she can do to correct this?

Also, about once a week a bull snake gets into the cages with the quail and will kill a couple. If you live out in the country, how do you keep the snakes away?

Last edited:
I'm interested in hearing the responses to this. This is my first batch and I bought the Genesis also. I have to add water daily / twice a day to keep the humidity up. I'm not experienced enough to know if this is normal or not.

I have one new this year as well. I didn't seem to have that problem. Is the resivor where the putting the water empty or is the incubator not reading it properly?
I find the best thing to do is call gqf directly and they help out a great deal.

My first thought is the 1588 is out of water in the tray. If the incubator is in a room with low humidity she may have to add water daily. Second thought, do you know if the hygrometer is accurate. Is this the 1588 version with the digital display? If you are reading from the incubator digital display and it has water in the tray I would buy another hydrometer to check it.

My sister bought a Genesis Hovabator. She is having problems with it keeping the humidity high enough. The problem didn't start until after her first batch, but since then she has noticed that the humidity drops quickly. She went to bed last night with it at 55% and woke up this morning to it being 25%. Does anyone know what she's doing wrong or what she can do to correct this?