Genetics type of question...

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by QuackerJackFarms, Oct 28, 2011.

1. QuackerJackFarms

QuackerJackFarms Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 26, 2011
    Missouri
    Don't laugh, I'm a newbie to this whole genetics thing... but I'm totally researching right now..

Here's my scenario.

I have a couple Red Sex-Link hens that I bought at TSC. They were sold to me as RIR's but they are definitely NOT. So I have done a little research and found that probably either the mom or dad was a true RIR... right?

So my question is, if I got a true RIR rooster, what kind of chicks would I get?

I understand this is a totally newbie question. I'm so sorry for my ignorance. But I'm trying to learn. [​IMG] Thanks!

I'm also thinking that they breed them this way so pullets are easily recognizable? Not sure how you can sell them as RIR's... but whatevs.

ETA: Basically what I'm asking is if I get a RIR rooster, will I get RIR roosters, and sex-link pullets.

Last edited: Oct 28, 2011
  2. nicalandia

nicalandia Overrun With Chickens

Jul 16, 2009
    Quote:its OK you have to start somewhere... [​IMG]

Quote:NO.. Basicaly what you will have is a Mutts that will largely resemble RIR in coloration.... you have 2 options after the initial cross(RIR x Red Sexlinks)

you can used the hens from that hatchings(RIR daughters) and mate them back to their RIR dad..

OR keep the hens for laying purposes..

what do you want? good layers? stay with the Sex link crosses, they are hard to beat at what they do, they will outlay any RIR..

do you want RIR? you can try and do what I told you(crossing the hatching females from the RIR x sex link cross) and try to get back to RIR type...Or you can by Real RIR and save time and effor...

3. QuackerJackFarms

Jun 26, 2011
    Missouri