Georgia chickens

Discussion in 'Where am I? Where are you!' started by Annoradeburgh, Aug 27, 2016.

1. Annoradeburgh

Annoradeburgh Just Hatched

Aug 20, 2016
    Looking to find out which chickens can tolerate our summers and winters here in GA. I am a newbie to chickens and still doing my research. :cd I am in Jackson County GA

2. sunflour

sunflour Flock Master Premium Member Project Manager

Jan 10, 2013
    Macon,GA
    Hello from Middle Georgia [​IMG].

I'm near Macon, south Monroe County. The larger concern is the summer heats since most breeds can tolerate weather a lot colder than either of us face. And all need special attention to get thru the summers - shade, fan/breeze, cool water, treats.

Most breed resources list only cold hardy characteristics. Local breeders and feed store sources usually only sell those that do well in the area. You can search for those to get lists of what they offer to narrow your search.

I have only personal experience with Barred Rocks and Buff Orpingtons - and they have done well here. I do know Rhode Island Reds, EE's, sex-linked and many others also fare well in our state.

In addition to heat tolerance, you should look at breeds that fare well with how you plan to manage your flock - for me I wanted breeds that do well in confinement. If you plan to free range it will offer more possible choices.

To get more local opines and info on breeders try posting the question under "Yo Georgians".

And [​IMG] so glad you have joined us. You should consider posting an intro under the New Members Forum to get a proper welcoming.

Good luck with your selections.

3. pejmo3

pejmo3 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 13, 2016
    Eastman, GA