German Exchange

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by whiteflare, May 12, 2011.

1. whiteflare

whiteflare Out of the blue

Mar 13, 2011
    Sydney
    I'm thinking of wether I should apply. It would be a good experience, but I suck at language and the host family wouldn't be able to understand anything I say [​IMG]

Is Germany a good place to go? I'm thinking primarily of the snow, which I haven't seen for a very long time. [​IMG]

2. BrattishTaz

BrattishTaz Roo Magnet

Jan 8, 2011
    Tampa Area, Florida
    I wanted to be an exchange student in Germany when I was in high school. I didn't speak the language either. It turned out to be very expensive and my parents said "no". [​IMG] I have always wondered what it would have been like.

3. whiteflare

Mar 13, 2011
    Sydney
    I am in my fourth year of learning German. I'm not too bad, but i certainly do not know enough German to be able to hold a normal conversation.

It's just under $5,000 for nine weeks here. Mostly flights, living with the host family cuts down on the costs drastically.

4. BrattishTaz

BrattishTaz Roo Magnet

Jan 8, 2011
    Tampa Area, Florida
    With four years of German, you will be able to communicate better than you think. I slept through 2 years of Spanish class [​IMG] and didn't think I had learned a thing. My hubby and I bought a house in Mexico and I found I could speak quite a bit. [​IMG]

I say if you have the opportunity....take it. It will be a great experience! [​IMG]

5. whiteflare

Mar 13, 2011
    Sydney
    Thanks. I feel better about it now... usually we watch German movies when our teacher's at a meeting, and none of us ever understand a thing except the girl with the German background [​IMG]