Getting back into the coop

zsquared08

In the Brooder
6 Years
Sep 3, 2013
Hey everyone ! I am new to this all and I am scared to leave my chickens roam the yard so this is the 3rd time I have let them out and I always keep an eye on them so they dont wander off to far, but how the heck do you get them back into the coop when its time ? I know alot of people let them roam all day and they just go back in at night but with my work schedule I cannot do that during the week and my neighbor has a dog so I cannot leave them unsupervised. The first time I got them with corn and they followed me in but not yesterday my fiance and I had to chase them and catch them all, which definitely was time consuming and I felt like they were just scared
sad.png
Just wanted to see if anyone had any suggestions ?
Thanks everyone !!!
big_smile.png

Hey everyone ! I am new to this all and I am scared to leave my chickens roam the yard so this is the 3rd time I have let them out and I always keep an eye on them so they dont wander off to far, but how the heck do you get them back into the coop when its time ? I know alot of people let them roam all day and they just go back in at night but with my work schedule I cannot do that during the week and my neighbor has a dog so I cannot leave them unsupervised. The first time I got them with corn and they followed me in but not yesterday my fiance and I had to chase them and catch them all, which definitely was time consuming and I felt like they were just scared
sad.png
Just wanted to see if anyone had any suggestions ?
Thanks everyone !!!
big_smile.png