Getting chickens to go outside the coop

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by schredbird, May 19, 2011.

1. schredbird

schredbird New Egg

May 19, 2011
    My chickens won't go outside of their coop...any suggestions?

2. BellevueOmlet

BellevueOmlet Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2010
    Put their food outside, they will venture out when they get hungry

3. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    [​IMG]

A coffee can with scratch rattling around in it works well to draw them out. So does half of a really ripe watermelon left just outside the coop door where they can see it.

Just curious, have they always been raised under cover? Did you just get them?

4. P-Funk

P-Funk Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 20, 2011
    Franktown
    Time. Mine hid behind the feeder for a week(s). Now i have to find them to get them back in.

5. rugerham

rugerham Out Of The Brooder

May 17, 2011
    I'm new to this too and my pullets hardly ever venture out. They did the first day, but since then they seem to like it inside. I'm glad to hear that they will eventually start coming out. I like the watermelon idea. That sounds like a win-win situation for everyone! [​IMG] I'll try that this weekend.

6. chicken daddy

chicken daddy Out Of The Brooder

Apr 27, 2011
    Louisville
    Im actually having the oposite problem. I am new to raising chickens as well, but when I open up their coop, after an hour or so they will venture out but they dont seem to want to go back in. Ive seen them use the ramp up and down so I know they can, but I thought they would typically want to go back in when the sun goes down, but there have been several nights where I have to pick them up and put them back in. Any ideas?? I dont want to let them stay out all night. I would be worried about predators getting to them.

7. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    Quote:[​IMG]