Getting chicks Friday, have a few questions

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by abcn123s, Mar 7, 2017.

1. abcn123s

abcn123s Chillin' With My Peeps Premium Member

Feb 20, 2016
    Southwest Colorado
    Hi all,
    We are finishing up the coop and built in brooder for 2 of our 19 new arrivals this Friday.. another 10 will join the following Friday. The rest will be here early April.
    1st question: how tall is a day old baby chick? Our feed store says about 5" (seems kinda tall, but I'm not an expert yet).
    2nd question: it has been cold in our coop, not drafty, just cold; testing out MHP nighttime temps with our weather station thermometer we are getting readings anywhere from 53-66 degrees at night and 68-78 during the daytime. Will I need to supplement heat? We have seedling grow mats that stay at a constant 85 degree (I think). I can implement those into the scenario if needed. Really want to stay away from a light bulb heating source, if possible.
    3rd question: we are planning to put sand in the brooder. Will we need to cover it for the first few days until chicks know food from bedding? Will sand be ok for their little legs? I have read about leg distortion and certainly don't want that!

I think that is all for now! Thank you all in advance for your helpfulness :)

2. SunHwaKwon

SunHwaKwon Overrun With Chickens

Jul 19, 2015
    Eastern Shore, MD
    Lol they are definitely not 5" tall. I haven't measured them but LF are 3" tall at most, I suspect, probably less.