Getting chicks in the morning! Quick advice?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Kristin228, Mar 16, 2017.

1. Kristin228

Kristin228 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 13, 2017
    I'm finally getting 3-4 chicks tomorrow morning! I'm so excited!!! My local feed store opens at 8am and they are getting their first shipment of chicks and I plan on being the first one there! They have a great selection.[​IMG] Any last minute advice for me?(don't worry I've been researching chickens for about 3 years[​IMG])

2. arizonachickens

arizonachickens Just Hatched

Feb 20, 2017
    Which feed store are you going to ?
    At my local tractor supply you have to buy a minimum of 6 chicks , I bought 21 barnevelders :)

3. Kristin228

Kristin228 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 13, 2017
    It's not a TSC it's a local feedstore and you can buy as little as one chick[​IMG]

4. barred2rock

barred2rock Chillin' With My Peeps

I would make sure that the feed store has them on hand for at least 24 hours and cared for properly before taking any home. The first 24 hours after birth or shipment are the most risky (for the lack of a better word) time for a chick. If you wait, you'll be less likely to see losses in your care due to dehydration, mishandling during shipping or illness.

ETA: You'll also want the brooder, heat source (whether heat lamp, heat pad or heat plate) and all the supplies you'll need for your new chicks, setup and ready before you bring any chicks home.

Last edited: Mar 16, 2017
  5. dandan111

dandan111 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 25, 2013
    Keep them warm. Buy some good starter grower. I keep mine in heated garage with a light on them the
    First week or so. Then they go to barn in a big tub with
    Lamp.

6. kajira

kajira Overrun With Chickens

Aug 6, 2016
    Texas