1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

getting closer! what to be prepared for.. :\

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by shmooborp, May 17, 2008.

1. shmooborp

shmooborp artistic fowlism

ok so today is day 17!!! yaaahoooo!!! this is my first time hatch.! they all are developed and looking good! but i have some questions that i want definate clarification on. so here it goes.

i put the egg in the bator on may 1st in the morning... so this would be day 17 right?
    do i stop turning on day 18 or is my last turn on day 18?
    the humidity should be upper 50s after day 18.. or starting day 18?
    but- when my humidity gets up to lie 49 or higher.... slight condonsation gathers around the corner of the window.
    hatch in the carton or not?
    put rubber mating down?

im sorry for all of the questions... and if they are confusing... they confuse me to! lol
    i hope someone can help me [​IMG] -shmoo

2. shmooborp

no one knows?

3. babyboy1_mom

babyboy1_mom Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 13, 2008
    Louisiana
    1. Yes, if you put the eggs in the bator before noon, on May 1st, then this is day 17.

2. The way that I do the turning, is I turn days 1-18. After I turn on the 18th night, I add water to make the humidity increase.

3. When you add the water on the night of the 18th day, last time turning, then your humidity will go up. The humidity for days 18-21 should be 60-70%. My windows condensate also. That is due to the increase in the humidity.