Getting Eaten Alive! HELP! (Grapic pics. coming)

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Leah and peeps, Feb 7, 2011.

1. Leah and peeps

Leah and peeps Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 28, 2009
    Canada
    Hi everyone,

I am so stressed! Yesterday i went inside the coop, and notcied that some of the feathers near one of my BSL vent were missing. I went closer and picked her up, and saw that she was getting eaten by my other chickens! The blood was dried up, but it was a HUGE hole in her!! [​IMG] I am discusted! [​IMG] The poor girl, i don't know what to do, as this is my first time raising chickens. What is the first thing i should do? Also the other BSL that i have is starting to bare blood on her back [​IMG] (But i think that she might be doing it herself, but can't be certain) And the one with bleeding ont he back, is not from a roo, as we dont have one. Also, I dont think that this would be from over crowding becuase each bird has 9 SF of space. (we started with 10 birds and are now down to 7) I will try and get pics tonight! Will she live?
    Funny thing is that its only the BSL that are having troubles, all the rest seem fine [​IMG] (chantecler, RSl)
    Please help me! [​IMG]
    Thanks

2. Mama2B&D&...Chickens

Mama2B&D&...Chickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 22, 2010
    Plant City, FL.
    I don't know very much either as I'm knew too but DEFinetely get her and the other one isolated
    [​IMG] Poor girl...they'll just continue to pick at her if they see blood [​IMG]

3. hallerlake

hallerlake Chillin' With My Peeps

May 30, 2010
    Seattle
    Isolate, and get some Blu-kote. Are they getting enough protein?

4. Leah and peeps

Jun 28, 2009
    Canada