Getting Meat Rabbits

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by Lloydc, Jan 7, 2015.

1. Lloydc

Lloydc Out Of The Brooder

Jan 7, 2015
    I'm planning on getting some meat rabbits at the end of the year. Still cant decide between NZWhite, Flemish Giant or Standard Rex. Situation is:
    -Nearly no pet market
    -Same with meat market
    -Will be the only one eating it
    -Heard stories that it stinks before during and after cooking
    Any hints, tips, etc. will be grately accepted and feel free to say what you like.

2. N F C

N F C dem crazy bones Premium Member

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    We started raising meat rabbits this past March. We have 2 breeding pairs, NZ Whites and Californians. So far, we have had 2 litters from each. I can only relate what our experience with these has been, I'm not an expert on rabbits by any means.

Our CA have had somewhat larger litters than our NZ. The 1st litter broke down like this: 8 for the CA and 3 for the NZ. The 2nd litter was this: 7 for the CA and 6 for the NZ.

With the 1st litters, we sold a few and processed 6 for ourselves. With the 2nd litter we sold all but 2. You may be surprised at the response you get with an ad from Craig's List, we were.

We didn't notice a horrible smell with the processing or cooking. They DO smell while they are growing because those little guys are eating machines! Be prepared to provide a lot of feed while you are growing them out. We spaced out the processing time of them between 8 and 12 weeks.

The meat is lean so while you can use it for any recipe you would normally use chicken for, we found we like it best slow cooked in things like soup, stews or main dishes that have a gravy/sauce cooked with it.

Hope that helps.

3. MrsKemmerlin

MrsKemmerlin Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 14, 2011
    Round O, SC