Getting my driver's license...or not?

Discussion in 'Family Life - Stories, Pictures & Updates' started by 77horses, Jan 6, 2013.

1. 77horses

77horses ◊The Spontaneous Pullet!◊

Aug 19, 2008
    [CONFIDENTIAL]
    Hey guys! So I have a little conflict here that I've been dealing with for a while.
    I've had my driving permit for about a year and one month now. I've practiced and practiced and honestly, I think I'm a perfectly fine driver. My mom, on the other hand, doesn't agree with me. She thinks I still need practice. Keep in mind that she is an advocate for carseat safety, a retired firefighter/EMT, etc...she's a very good driver and knows a lot. Then again, she's also a very controlling/non-passive parent. Over the course of having my permit, I've made a few small mistakes every once in a while, just like how everyone does. No one starts off as a perfect driver (not that that should be used as an excuse, either). I've never made any major mistakes though. For example, one time I pulled into a parking spot and barely nudged the front curb by mistake by not stopping quick enough. And when I say barely, I really do mean BARELY. Yet she freaked out and to this day holds it against me and claims it to be a reason for me not being ready to get my license, even though this occurred early on when I first got my permit. She also claims that I hesitate at the light sometimes, like if the light goes from red to green, I'll be distracted by something and not go "quickly enough"...in reality, this has only happened a few times and I might've hesitated a second or two. Still, she holds it against me as a reason for me to not get my license. Another thing is in the beginning, for a little while I had a problem with the right on red concept and intersections. A couple times I almost pulled out in front of someone because it was a 4-way intersection and I thought it was my turn to go. I stopped on time and nothing happened, and since then I've made sure to correct myself a