1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Getting my flock tomorrow and need advice

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by 6girl, Jan 17, 2014.

1. 6girl

6girl Out Of The Brooder

Jan 12, 2014
    Golden, CO
    Hello! I'm getting 10 6mo old ISA browns tomorrow. Yay! I've never had chickens before, I'm a total noob, and need advice. How long should they be confined in the coop before letting them out? Do I put them under lights and if so, how much "sun" do I add? My nesting boxes are ~14" off the ground, do I need to add a roost/rail to the front or can the little ladies navigate that without it? All replies most appreciated!

2. wsmith

wsmith Chillin' With My Peeps

Welcome to BYC! When you have time, come visit the Colorado Thread at https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/68894/colorado/18140#post_12654101

A couple of questions:
    1. Are they currently laying?
    2. Were they kept with lights before?

The nest boxes are fine at that height, I personally like them to have a roost in fron of the boxes. I would also put them into the coop and keep them there at least one day or so.

Last edited: Jan 17, 2014
  3. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    X2

They prefer a perch for them to hop on before they enter. They do a little exam. It's better for them to step in than hop in and potentially break an egg.

If they've been on light, it isn't absolutely necessary but better to stay on the same schedule.

I keep chickens locked in where they're going to be sleeping for 2 days before I let them out. That way they'll go in at night on their own.