Getting ready 4 the girls...I need advice

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by funkychicken, Jun 9, 2008.

1. funkychicken

funkychicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 9, 2008
    East Texas
    Hello to all!! I am so eggcited [​IMG] to start my backyard coop. Being a newbie I have enjoyed reading and researching chickens...A few questions... 1.I read about the deep litter method and was wondering about putting a "sand box" under the roost for easy poo removal...2. Where can I get an economical organic feed, most is so pricey...3.Can I dry and crush egg shells instead of buying calcium...Thank you for any other tips and/or advice you may have to offer...I am looking to have things ready in 3-4 weeks.

2. arlee453

arlee453 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 13, 2007
    near Charlotte NC
    [​IMG] Welcome to the chicken addiction!! [​IMG]

Using a poo pit like you describe is a great idea to cut down on cleaning chores, regardless of whatever bedding you use

Can't help you on the organic feed, but hopefully someone else will come along about that

As far as egg shells - they are a great source of calcium, but it hink the prevailing wisdom is to bake them first for a while. I'll see if I can find a thread for you on that. Also, be sure they don't appear anything like egg shells when you are done - don't want to encourage egg eating by your girls.

3. SeaChick

SeaChick Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 25, 2007
    Southern Maine