1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Getting your chicks to like you

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by BradyMSU, Apr 23, 2008.

1. BradyMSU

BradyMSU Out Of The Brooder

Apr 10, 2008
    Marshall, Michigan
    This is my first time owning chicks. Mine are two weeks old now. I work during the day but have been spending a couple hours in the evening reading next to their brooder and talking to them in order to get them accustomed to me. By whenever I open the top of the brooder to change the food, water, litter or to pick one of them up to check for health issues they run to the farthest corner to attempt to get away from me. Otherwise, they go about their business eating, drinking, sleeping, kicking wood chips around and jumping on each other. Should I be handling the chicks more to socialize with them even if I have to catch them or am I doing the right thing by only talking to them and reading near them? How often do you handle your chicks? Do you have any tips I can use to socialize them to be while they're this young or should I wait until they're older?

2. Sparrow

Sparrow Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 11, 2008
    I can give you a few tips to help you habituate your chicks. I have been doing these things with my babies and they are REALLY friendly now. Anytime I come around their brooder and open the lid, they jump out of the top and onto my arms, shoulder, hands, whatever they can get to! They are only 5 weeks old, too, so these methods appear to work quickly.