Girls almost ready to go out to the coop but it's SOOO hot!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by nharbison0722, Jun 13, 2016.

1. nharbison0722

nharbison0722 Out Of The Brooder

May 26, 2016
    Hi friends!
    As I've stated before, I'm a complete newbie chicken daddy. I have 4 RIR's and two Cukoo Murans. They are reaching the 3 week mark and coming along nicely. I've got them in a huge dog kennel wrapped in hardware cloth with a heat lamp that I've now got down to about 86f. The coop that I have has two vented Windows, basically just two vents and one window that won't open. I am in the process of building a 20ft chicken run that will attach to their chicken tractor. My question is whether or not they are going to have problems adjusting to the 90+ degree weather here in central Texas. Yesterday it was 94, with a heat index of 101! My run has no shade, unless I build something into it to provide shade. I could move the whole thing under the trees in our backyard, but I'm not sure if I did that that I would be in compliance with the 50ft city ordinance. Any ideas? All ideas and help would be greatly appreciated, as I want to do the right thing for my girls!
    Thanks again and here's a pic of the tractor. I plan on building the run straight off the front of the coop, giving them plenty of room to run and play!
    [​IMG]

2. Chicken Girl1

Chicken Girl1 Queen of the Coop Premium Member

Mar 3, 2015
    Virginia
    I would try and put something in the run area for shade, also always make sure that their water supply if fresh and cold. You also try putting frozen treats (homemade or cold fruit) into the run area for them to enjoy. Good luck with your transitioning!

3. nharbison0722

May 26, 2016
    Thanks for the advice- I think I'm gonna try to get them
    Under some trees if I can. Should I take them out little by little to get acclimated?

4. caj1985

caj1985 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2012
    Ratcliff, AR