Girls started to sleep/pool in the nest boxes!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by egghound, Mar 8, 2013.

1. egghound

egghound Out Of The Brooder

Feb 25, 2013
    Hi everyone. I'm a newbie. We have four chicken, (Orpington, Rhode Island Red, Delaware, and Plymouth Rock) that we got about 5 weeks ago. Three of them are about 17 weeks and the fourth one is about 19 weeks old now. They have always slept on the roosts (plenty room on 2 X 4 boards and higher than the nest boxes), and occasionally on the coop floor (covered with wood shavings).

About a week ago, one of them started going into the nest box at night and sleeping and pooping in there. Now, it seems at least some of the others are doing the same thing. I don't mind cleaning the poop from the nest boxes as I clean the coop daily. But, what does this mean? Are they getting ready to lay? Is this a problem? Should I be concerned or do something to change their habit? They have no difficulty getting on the roosts when they want to.

Thanks for the help.

2. egghound

Feb 25, 2013
    One more quick update. The two nest boxes are about 12" W X 14" deep X 14" tall, covered with straw and have two fake eggs in each.

3. egghound

Feb 25, 2013
    One more question. Will the girls sleeping in the nest boxes in any way effect or interfere with them laying eggs when they start to lay?

4. kdwag

kdwag Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 14, 2012
    Northwest Ohio