Giving Chickens A Second Chance...

Smittenroade

Songster
8 Years
Jan 31, 2011
North East Texas
Hi all, Im new to raising chickens, I find myself in an interesting and delightful turn of events. I recently found myself in posession of some, what I think are, game chickens. Im not really sure what kind of game they are though. I am planning on posting images of them on the boards when I am able. The rooster I have was a reject from a breeder who thought he wasn't "agressive" enough and was going to dispose of him. Where I live, agressive fighting roosters sell for a ton of money and ones that dont make the cut are not kept around for long. So, I decided to take the initiative and buy him and four hens. He has turned out to be a great rooster, very docile in nature and even good around other roosters. Who would have thunk? He is a little weary of people though, but my border collie gets along with him great! Anyways, I threw up a coop and run within a couple days and they all seem to be doing very well. I still am not quite sure how old they are, or much anything else, besides them being game chickens. Thats my story, I expect these forums will be very helpful in my journey full of poultry.

BTW I am already preparing to get more chickens....this hobby is addictive, and tasty (eggs).

I finally can post the images, here they are. Not too good though, because like I said they are still a bit weary of people. I think the breeder did not treat them very well.
First is the rooster, I named him Rooster Cogburn.
78558_img_1134.jpg

and then the chick, cant see her very well. Any thoughts on breed would be much appreciated.
78558_img_1141.jpg

Hello and welcome!! Rooster Cogburn is one handsome dude- love his name! And the chick is lovely! I am a complete newbie so I can't help with the breed- but the experts here will certainly help. I am so glad you are giving them a good, loving home! Just wanted to say hello- best of luck with your new flock!
yippiechickie.gif