1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Giving new chicks treats and dirt!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by JenniferJoIN, Sep 10, 2007.

1. JenniferJoIN

JenniferJoIN Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 10, 2007
    Southern Indiana
    Hello all- I just received my chicks (from Meyer Hatchery) last week and have had a ball watching them and guessing what kind they are. (I got the brown-egg layers assortment... 11 hens and 1 silver wyandotte rooster, and one mystery chick!) I think my boyfriend is already sick of the "I think this one is a...." e-mails. [​IMG] Did I mention I'm new at the chicken-raising?
    I've been reading posts but haven't seen one to answer my question. My chics are 6 days old and doing great, but I was wondering what (or even if I should) I can give them as 'treats' at this age. I've been putting grass clippings in the cage to give them something to scratch at. And can I go ahead and put dirt in their cage for a dust bath? Hopefully I'll have pictures up soon so maybe I can get some help with "Guess what this chick is"!
    Another quick question is that some of their poop is runny... is this normal?
    Thanks to anyone with an opinion!

2. silkiechicken

silkiechicken Staff PhD Premium Member

Ok, so I'd not give them grass clippings since they will try to eat it and it can cause an impacted crop. Since you already gave them some, you'll need to give them scratch or dirt or play sand to eat to act as grit. If you give anything other than regular crumbles, you need to give some sort of grit to help them digest the food. I usually hold off on the treats for the first few weeks but you can give cooked rice, veggies, and yoghurt. Just do so in moderation and with grit.

3. countrygirl4513

countrygirl4513 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 14, 2007