Goat milking disaster

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by lcountry, Apr 14, 2008.

1. lcountry

lcountry Out Of The Brooder

May 11, 2007
    Ok, I need help and probably not a small amount of hand holding...

Last week, I got my first goats. I'm a newbie at milking and the lady I got the goats from gave me a lesson to make sure I was doing it right. I don't "think" I'm using a wrong technique, but results are proving otherwise.

Last week... The goat I got was used to being milked. I saw her milked on two occassions and she was a doll. Jumped right up onto the stand, stood like a statue while chowing down on grain.

Now... First night, jumped on stand, but got wiggly before I was done. I didn't think too much of it as I know I was slow. I thought she just got bored before I was finished. Now I'm faster, but the ending is getting worse.

When we first start, it goes fine. But, then after a few minutes tapers off into misery for me and her. She swings her rear around. Steps in the bowl. Picks up her foot like she'd love to kick. Just totally presents a moving target. Tried to pull back out of the stand, etc. I'm sorry to say that I got really, really frustrated today and swatted her on the leg after she stepped into the bowl (the third or fourth time) then kicked at me. After that and some unlady like language (mine) I decided to throw in the towel.

I've tried moving the stanchion to where she can see the other goats. I thought maybe she felt separated too long. I thought maybe she didn't like being milked one handed - one side at a time. Now I can milk with both hands like she was used to - still bad or worse. We've even turned milking into a two people job with one person there to pet/feed treats to entertain her - again, it's worse.