going to start building a coop

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by cass1776, Aug 29, 2010.

1. cass1776

cass1776 In the Brooder

Aug 28, 2010
    Mass
    im going to be getting my first chicks soon so i need to start work on a coop.im only going to start with 4 chickens.would 4x4 or 16 sq.ft of floor space be enough room.any suggestions and input would be appreciated just want to make sure i do this right because i am brand new to this

2. elmo

elmo Songster

May 23, 2009
    DFW
    The usual rule of thumb you read is 4 square foot per chicken indoors, plus 10 square feet per chicken outdoors. So at 16 square feet, your coop would be just big enough for 4 chickens.

There's nothing wrong with building bigger than the minimums though, especially if you may need to keep your chickens confined inside the coop for extended periods (for example, you live in a cold climate with harsh winters).

p.s. Welcome to the forum!

Last edited: Aug 29, 2010
  3. cass1776

cass1776 In the Brooder

Aug 28, 2010
    Mass
    thanks for your help,i do live in an area where winters get pretty bad at times.the run area will be plenty big enough im going to make it 8x12 just want to get the coop size right so they will be comfy especially on those cold days and nights

4. chica57

chica57 Songster

Aug 25, 2009
    Quote:Ditto---My first coop was big enough for the first group of chicks I got--but couldn't resist getting more this year so had to make another coop--consider that also you'd be surprised how all of a sudden you feel the need to get more-I think its an addiction!!!! [​IMG] And [​IMG]

5. oldchickenlady

oldchickenlady Songster

May 9, 2010
    Cabot, AR