Golden Comet Help

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by tstiles01, Aug 20, 2014.

1. Okay so I am new to BYC as of today. I purchased White Rock Hens and New Hampshire Red Roosters as Chicks from Welp Hatchery. My pourpose was to make Golden Comets. Well we have the comets but here is the Thing. they are 2-4 mo old and they are a blondish red color whith white bars and a little black or grey in the tail or they are a greyish color with bars and have the blondish colors on there neck. What the HECK. What am I doing wrong? Someone please help me.

2. JMarch

JMarch Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 20, 2010
    Louisiana
    the barring is throwing me off some. Will be great layers, though.

3. Ol Grey Mare

Ol Grey Mare One egg shy of a full carton. ..... Premium Member

Mar 9, 2014
    Oregon
    My Coop
    Hi and welcome - it might be better if you take some photos and post them so that we can see what it is you are describing.

4. That is exactly what I want a good layer and not really concerned about color other than the fact that I will be selling Chicks and want everyone to like what they get. I am afraid that they will question our breeding stock. and will post pics as soon as I get home.
    We have a friend that lives in Indiana and he goes and gets eggs from an Amish lady and she has golden comets and the eggs are ginormous.
    Thanks

5. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana