Golden Comet's feathers won't grow back

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by buffyschicks, Feb 12, 2016.

1. buffyschicks

buffyschicks New Egg

Feb 12, 2016
    Hi y'all!

I'm new to the chicken lifestyle (these are the first I've owned!) and I've been trying to figure out what's going with my flock. I have nine hens and one rooster, all Golden Comets bought at my local Tractor Supply in early March. They did really well during the spring/summer but started looking a little bit rough and losing their feathers in the fall. Thinking it was molting, I increased their protein (Feather Fixer) rations and let them be. But it's now February and all of my hens still have naked butts! I've checked all of them and their coop for signs of mites or lice and have found nothing! I thought we might have a feather-picker, but ALL the girls are losing feathers around their butts, sides, tails, and necks. Even my rooster, Buffy, has a huge bald patch on his neck! I would appreciate any advice, since this is quite literally driving up the wall!

Thank you so much!

Kinsey

2. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    I would treat them for mites. Not all mites/lice are obvious, or show signs of their presence in their coop, or on the birds.

3. buffyschicks

buffyschicks New Egg

Feb 12, 2016
    Thank you for the advice, Sumi! What would you suggest I use? I have some Mannapro Poultry Protector spray *and* some Sevin dust.

4. ryanhodapp

ryanhodapp Chillin' With My Peeps

May 5, 2010
    St. Louis
    Nutrients also makes a feather formula that may help.

5. ryanhodapp

ryanhodapp Chillin' With My Peeps

May 5, 2010
    St. Louis
    that was suppose to be Nutrena

6. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland