Golden Laced Wyandotte's

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by K-9Dog, Aug 7, 2014.

1. K-9Dog

K-9Dog Out Of The Brooder

Jul 23, 2012
    I am new to this breed and one of them started laying this past week and the eggs are very small but look nice. I have seen that they are large egg producers, so will they get bigger? I do not remember my other hens years ago if they started small and increased size. But I had to ask.

2. Ol Grey Mare

Ol Grey Mare One egg shy of a full carton. ..... Premium Member

Mar 9, 2014
    Oregon
    My Coop
    Few laying hens start out with full sized eggs -(said that way for the inevitable, "mine did" if I said none, lol) - it is most common for them to start out laying small eggs that will progressively get larger.

1 person likes this.
  3. K-9Dog

K-9Dog Out Of The Brooder

Jul 23, 2012
    Ok Thanks - I figured so but had to ask.

4. earlyredrooster

earlyredrooster Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 19, 2014
    Harrisburg, Ar
    I ordered seven of this breed for my son and they are the most aggressive bird we have. Is this a trait of the whole breed?

5. Ol Grey Mare

Ol Grey Mare One egg shy of a full carton. ..... Premium Member

Mar 9, 2014
    Oregon
    My Coop
    Not really - they are commonly described as docile and friendly. That being said, in our current mixed flock the wyandottes (we have GLW and SLW) are the least friendly of all our birds, but still do not exhibit aggressive tendencies - they are just not all that interested in being friendly with us.
    What are the aggressive behaviors you are seeing in your birds, how old are they, how many birds total in the flock, when were the seven introduced in respect to the rest of the flock, etc. Knowing a bit more about the situation would help to suss out whether this is a breed issue or another underlying cause.

1 person likes this.
  6. earlyredrooster

Apr 19, 2014
    Harrisburg, Ar