Gonna Play Army today !

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by cluckcluckcharlie, Sep 20, 2010.

1. cluckcluckcharlie

cluckcluckcharlie Out Of The Brooder

May 22, 2010
    Indiana
    Well, this is my first year of raising chickens. In the last 2 weeks I have lost 5, 7 week old chicks... 2 rir and 3 beautiful wyandotte. Roomie has cats... to many to mention which I was pretty sure is the KILLERS. We have a fenced in back yard.. pretty small but 15 birds have plenty of room to roam. Roomie says when cats are chasing the chicks... they are just playing, they wont hurt them. They haven't while we were out there. Turn your back one minute ( long enough to use the Rest Room) and that's when 3 of the 5 have come up missing. Well, yesterday after finding the 5th bird, I've had enough. There it was, just outside the fence, 2 feet 1 wing and what looked like a neck. Made me sick. Thought about putting it in roomies car, but then figured nah... just let the cats come up missing, and let her find them in the shape they will be in. Today I called into work... Took a vacation day. I'm just gonna play too. Was thinking about army... but now I think I will just play firing squad. I cant deal with this much longer. My chicks are my babies and to see some domesticated little cat do what they do. Worst part is... I have to hunt them because when roomie is gone, they know they're in trouble and stay out of sight till she gets home. Anyone have any other suggestions? Heaven forbid her POOR CATS HAS ANYTHING TO DO WITH IT! I no long have any use for cats what so ever. Anyone wanna take bets that after the cats are gone... my chickens wont be?

2. theoldchick

theoldchick The Chicken Whisperer

May 11, 2010
    Get rid of the roomie and the cats. Once you start shooting the cats the roomie may shoot you right back. If roomie can't keep the cats up tell roomie to pack up.

3. cluckcluckcharlie

May 22, 2010
    Indiana