1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Good day!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by lexxed, Mar 11, 2016.

1. lexxed

lexxed New Egg

Feb 21, 2016
    Hi

Looking at getting a few chooks in about 6 months.

I'm new to chickens (had cats,dogs, mice and fish as a kid , more of a dog person)

No chickens yet, just moving into our first house next week, has a decent sized garden around 400m2
    in Sydney Australia

Other hobbies are electronics and Jazz (play sax).
    Have a 19 month old daughter and love watching her learn.

Things to do first before getting/making a coop and then chickens

Fix up garden irrigation (have a 10k litre rainwater tank, need to overhaul pump and replace/install new fittings)
    Plan and build up garden beds for veggies
    Fix fences
    Clean out any plants that might be toxic to chickens

Also get to know the neighbours on my block with chickens (at least 2 houses with chickens in the closest 6 houses).

Main reasons for wanting chooks
    eggs - I usually eat 2-3 eggs 5-6 days a week for breakfast
    fertiliser for garden

2. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    Welcome to BYC [​IMG] It's great that you are doing the research before taking the plunge, unlike some… [​IMG] Have you checked out the Learning Center yet? There are some articles on toxic plants, gardening with chickens and of course the essentials like how many chickens you can fit into a certain space and what breeds will be best for you. Enjoy the site and keep us posted!

3. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life Water Under the Bridge Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    Welcome to BYC! I'm glad you joined us! :)

4. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009