Good dual purpose breeds

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by bantiebabe1200, Nov 9, 2010.

1. bantiebabe1200

bantiebabe1200 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 5, 2010
    Ennis, Montana
    I just have question about what breeds are best for dual purpose. I just read the thread about wyandotts and was curious if there any particular favorites of ppl out there for this purpose. I would personally like to have good layers and maybe cook up the roo's but I'm still undecided about what kind of bird might be best for this. (I was originally thinking of the orpington's, but would like other opinions too since I'm new to eating my own birds)

Last edited: Nov 9, 2010
  2. PineappleMama

PineappleMama Chillin' With My Peeps

3. lightfoot

lightfoot Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 19, 2010
    NW minnesota
    Quote:I asked the very same thing.
    1- can withstand -20 degree cold for extended time.
    2-dual purpose, meat and eggs.
    3-mild tempered.
    4-will lay thru winter.
    5-popular enough to be in demand for chicks in the spring.
    6-large eggs.
    7-can take confinement well.
    The breed chart is good.
    [​IMG]

4. bantiebabe1200

bantiebabe1200 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 5, 2010
    Ennis, Montana
    Thanks, that's very helpful list. [​IMG] That should make this task much easier. [​IMG]

5. Dogfish

Dogfish Rube Goldberg incarnate

Mar 17, 2010
    Western Washington
    I started with Barred Rocks (BR), Black Austrolorps (BA), Rhode Island Reds (RIR) and Gold Sex Links (GSL), all day olds purchased in March of this year. All strong dual purpose birds. Egg production is about 12 eggs per day, they started laying in August, but I have had 2 days where I got 16 eggs from my 16 hens. We have one rooster, BA, and he services the girls pretty well. Pulled 24 eggs to hatch, 19 were fertille, 17 hatched successfully. I'll hatch another batch in January to add a few girls to the flock. The rooster would certainly be worth harvesting now, if we didn't want him.